Author Topic: Help please! Where is this 1977 location in corfu?  (Read 11978 times)

Offline lonegroover

Help please! Where is this 1977 location in corfu?
« on: May 16, 2012, 11:05:56 PM »
Hi,

My wife and I have booked a week's holiday to Corfu this June, which we're both looking forward to very much. For me it's my first visit since September 1977 when I was an impecunious student and I'm keen to see how much of the island has changed (and how much has not).

In  September 1977 we stayed at the youth hostel at Kontokali which was great (compared to the spartan/strict ones in northern europe).  I don't suppose it is still there.

We also hired scooters and travelled extensively all over the island. On one trip to Paleokastrista we returned via the north and stopped off at this taverna which was in the countryside. It was really good and almost everything on the plate came from their garden at the back. I would love to know where this was. Can anyone identify it?

Many thanks.

John

Offline justphil

• Arillas regular visitor
  • ARILLIAC
  • Arillas is in my soul
Re: Help please! Where is this 1977 location in corfu?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2012, 11:24:38 PM »
John, welcome to the Arillas forum. I'm sorry, I don't recognise the taverna in the picture, which from your description might be on the North West coast between Paleokastritsa and Ag Stefanos. Someone here might. I am intrigued to find out as well.

You don't say where you are staying/going to in Corfu this time, but don't miss Arillas if you want to see very limited change and the values you saw in 1977. Arillas has matured in that time, tourism has been kind to it rather than spoiled it, and it still has a huge measure of authenticity to offer. And the surrounding countryside and villages offer many people a lifetime of peace, nature and Corfiot, liberal joie de vivre.

Let us know how you get on.
Best wishes
Phil

Offline lonegroover

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2012, 11:32:54 PM »
Thanks Phil,